Fyodor Dostoevsky Museum
The world's first museum dedicated to Fyodor Dostoevsky is located in the apartment where the writer's childhood and adolescence were spent. The restoration of the museum memorial interiors was based on the "Memoirs" of author’s younger brother Andrei Dostoevsky.
The Fyodor Dostoevsky Museum was originated in 1921 in the year of author's 100th anniversary. By 1928 it was opened, in the 1930s the richest archive of documents collected by writer’s widow Anna Dostoevskaya was donated to the museum. In 1940 this unique collection and museum on Dostoevsky Street became а part of the Vladimir Dahl Russian State Literary Museum.
Fyodor Dostoevsky Museum is located in the northern wing of the ensemble of the Mariinsky Hospital for the Poor, built in 1806 in the late Russian classicism style. The hospital wing was intended for various services and state apartments for hospital employees. The family of the physician Mikhail Dostoevsky, the writer's father, occupied a small apartment of two rooms on the first floor. Fyodor Dostoevsky lived in this apartment from 1823 to 1837.
In the year of the bicentennial anniversary of the Russian famous author, a large complex "Fyodor Dostoevsky Museum" located on three floors of the building will be opened.
Mosсow, Dostoevsky str., 2
Web site: GOSLITMUZ.RU